Bulldog Golfers Ramey, Boasson Earn All-SEC Honors

Discussion in 'Other Sports Forum' started by Logan Lowery, May 1, 2013.

  1. Logan Lowery

    Logan Lowery
    Expand Collapse

    Jul 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ? Juniors Axel Boasson added to an already successful Mississippi State men's golf season by being named to the 2013 All-Southeastern Conference teams.

    Ramey, who picked up a second-team honor last year, was named to the first team this season. Boasson earned second team accolades after putting together his best year at MSU.

    "This is such a great honor for both our golf program and these two young men," head coach Clay Homan said. "You are in elite company when you are recognized among the best in the SEC. They are two of the many leaders we have on this team, and we all share in their accolades. We are proud of what they have been able to accomplish both on and off the course."

    Ramey's first-team selection is the first for the Bulldogs since Alex Rocha in 2000.

    State's two All-SEC selections are the most since the 1999 season when Rocha and Ben Smith claimed the honor. MSU was one of five schools to have mutiple players named to the squads.

    Both Ramey and Boasson picked up SEC Player of the Week accolades this year, the most in a season for the program.

    The All-SEC squads were selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

    Homan's squad will wait to see where it lands in the postseason during the NCAA Selection Show that will be held May 6 at 8 p.m. State will be seeking to make its first NCAA Regional appearance since the 2008-2009 season.Fans can follow the Mississippi State men's golf program through Facebook (@mstateMG).

    2013 All-SEC Men's Golf Teams

    Coach of the Year

    Jay Seawell, Alabama

    Golfer of the Year
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year
    Austin Cook, Arkansas
    Hunter Kraus, Missouri
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama

    Freshman of the Year
    Taylor Moore, Arkansas
    Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

    First Team All-SEC
    Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
    (SEC Championship Medalist)
    Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
    Justin Thomas, Alabama
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama
    Jace Long, Missouri
    Tyler McCumber, Florida
    Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
    Oliver Goss, Tennessee
    T.J. Mitchell, Georgia
    Curtis Thompson, LSU

    Second Team All-SEC
    Andrew Presley, LSU
    Nicholas Reach, Georgia
    Dykes Harbin, South Carolina
    Axel Boasson, Mississippi State
    Trey Millinax, Alabama
    Michael Hebert, Auburn
    T.J. Vogel, Florida
    Andrew Evans, Texas A&M

    Freshman All-SEC
    Taylor Moore, Arkansas
    Matt NeSmith, South Carolina
    Oliver Goss, Tennessee
    Lee McCoy, Georgia
    Jake Mondy, Auburn

Share This Page